33 rue Vandenbranden

(2013) Franck Chartier en GöteborgsOperans Danskompani

33 rue Vandenbranden was directed by Franck Chartier for the Göteborg Opera. It is an adaptation of Peeping Tom’s original piece 32 rue Vandenbranden, with the dancers of the GöteborgsOperans Danskompani. Each of the six original roles was multiplied and performed by various performers at the same time, with a total of 22 performers on stage. The production premiered at the Göteborg Opera house on May, 6th, 2013.

In 33 rue Vandenbranden a unique world takes shape, a world where the borders between reality and imagined reality become blurred. We find ourselves in an isolated community, a snowy mountain town where rickety caravans offer the only protection under the unchanging heavens and whose young inhabitants are confronted by their loneliness and the subconscious. The people we follow succumb in the face of fears that turn out to be totally imaginary. The people are living in a vacuum and have become caught in a vicious cycle. The place is full of hopelessness and melancholy – yet is still poetic and beautiful.

The cinematic craftsmanship opens the door to dizzy scenes of an irrational world surrounded by an ultra-realistic set design. The music enhances the hypnotic mood as the onlooker is cast into this cold and stormy universe.

Concept and adaptation: Franck Chartier
With the dancers of the GöteborgsOperans Danskompani: Anna Altes, Delphine Boutet, Hildur Ottarsdotttir, Jenna Fakhoury, Rebecca Hytting, Janine Koertge, Maria Chiara Mezzadri, Danielle de Vries, Jubal Battisti, Matthew Foley, Moritz Ostruschnjak, David Wilde, Toby Kassell, Fan Luo, Kyoko Matsumoto, Lotem Regev, Harumi Terayama, Nigel Campbell, Roderick George, Chiaki Horita, Satoko Takahashi, Tom Weinberger
Mezzo-soprano: Eurudike De Beul
Extras: Anna Dalentoft, Anders Rimpi, My Ring, Ingrid Thiele
Assistants: Pedro Goucha Gomes, Fernando Melo, Mattias Suneson

Inspired by 32 rue Vandenbranden, a Peeping Tom production:
Concept & Direction: Gabriela Carrizo, Franck Chartier
Dance & creation: Jos Baker, Eurudike De Beul, Marie Gyselbrecht, Hun-Mok Jung, Maria Carolina Vieira (before : Sabine Molenaar), Seoljin Kim
Dramaturgy: Hildegard De Vuyst en Nico Leunen
Sound composition : Juan Carlos Tolosa, Glenn Vervliet
Set design: Peeping Tom, Nele Dirckx, Yves Leirs, Frederik Liekens
Lighting design: Filip Timmerman, Yves Leirs
Costumes: Diane Fourdrignier, HyoJung Jang

before

2013

06-14 May 2013 Göteborg Opera Göteborg (SK)

33 rue Vandenbranden

(2013) Franck Chartier en GöteborgsOperans Danskompani

Mise en scène en 2013 par Franck Chartier, 33 rue Vandenbranden est une adaptation de la pièce originale de Peeping Tom, 32 rue Vandenbranden, avec les danseurs de la GöteborgsOperans Danskompani. Les six rôles originaux ont été démultipliés et repris par différents danseurs, avec un total de 22 artistes sur scène. La première mondiale a eu lieu à l’Opéra de Göteborg le 6 mai 2013.

Dans 33 rue Vandenbranden, un monde unique prend forme, un monde dans lequel la réalité et l’imaginaire se mêlent et deviennent flous. Nous nous retrouvons dans une communauté isolée au sommet d’une montagne neigeuse, avec des abris de fortune comme seule protection dans ces conditions extrêmes. Les jeunes habitants sont confrontés à leur solitude et leur subconscient. Ils succombent à des peurs imaginaires ; ils vivent dans un vide et se retrouvent dans un cercle vicieux. Teinté de désespérance et de mélancolie, le lieu est en même temps poétique et beau.

Les techniques cinématographiques appliquées à la pièce ouvrent les portes d'un monde irrationnel dans une scénographie ultra-réaliste. La musique ajoute à l’ambiance hypnotique, tandis que l’observateur est jeté dans un univers froid et houleux.

Conception et adaptation : Franck Chartier
Avec les danseurs de la GöteborgsOperans Danskompani : Anna Altes, Delphine Boutet, Hildur Ottarsdotttir, Jenna Fakhoury, Rebecca Hytting, Janine Koertge, Maria Chiara Mezzadri, Danielle de Vries, Jubal Battisti, Matthew Foley, Moritz Ostruschnjak, David Wilde, Toby Kassell, Fan Luo, Kyoko Matsumoto, Lotem Regev, Harumi Terayama, Nigel Campbell, Roderick George, Chiaki Horita, Satoko Takahashi, Tom Weinberger
Mezzo-soprano : Eurudike De Beul
Figurants : Anna Dalentoft, Anders Rimpi, My Ring, Ingrid Thiele
Assistants : Pedro Goucha Gomes, Fernando Melo, Mattias Suneson

Inspiré de 32 rue Vandenbranden, une création de Peeping Tom:
Conception & mise en scène: Gabriela Carrizo, Franck Chartier
Danse & creation: Jos Baker, Eurudike De Beul, Marie Gyselbrecht, Hun-Mok Jung, Maria Carolina Vieira (avant : Sabine Molenaar), Seoljin Kim
Dramaturgie: Hildegard De Vuyst en Nico Leunen
Composition sonore: Juan Carlos Tolosa, Glenn Vervliet
Conception des décors: Peeping Tom, Nele Dirckx, Yves Leirs, Frederik Liekens
Conception lumière: Filip Timmerman, Yves Leirs
Costumes: Diane Fourdrignier, HyoJung Jang

passé

2013

06-14 Mai 2013 Göteborg Opera Göteborg (SK)